I love playing hide-and-seek with all the boys,

but I especially love playing it with Avery.  The way he scrunches his whole body into the tiniest of spaces, the way he tries with all his might to be small, the way he believes, truly believes, that if he closes his eyes tight and can’t see me, then I can’t see him either.

And most of all, I love the way he laughs and laughs when he opens his eyes, and I’m right there smiling at him, smiling and laughing, too.

About jennifergg

I am a daughter, sister, wife, and mother to three sons. I am a cookie-baker, storyteller, kisser-of-boo-boos, and an advocate for children with disabilities. Pinwheels is my blog about life as the mother of a boy with Down syndrome. I also have a website at www.jennifergrafgroneberg.com
This entry was posted in Pinwheels. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I love playing hide-and-seek with all the boys,

  1. Angela says:

    Awwww….that is precious. I love to play peek-a-boo with Benjamin. He squeals with such delight, we have to do it over and over. And over. And I love every second of it! :)

  2. starrlife says:

    Adorable…there is something so intense about that eye to eye smile isn’t there? Like a sunbeam directly to the heart.

  3. Kleidy says:

    Lovely :D

  4. Lisa says:

    I love these little games too. It is the simple things! :) Katelyn thinks she can hide behind the slats in chairs — it is so cute.

  5. Ellen says:

    I love that vision of Avery’s face.
    Hide and seek is my favorite game to play with Max, too. This is what he does: He will “hide” by standing in the middle of the room and turning his back to the doorway. As if, I can’t see you, so you can’t see me. Makes me melt every time. Then he squeals when you go “I SEE MAX!”

    That squeal is the best sound in the whole, wide world.

  6. kristen says:

    Beautiful post, Jennifer.

  7. Jennifer Hollett says:

    thanks for the smiles!
    With my Kathryn it is bubbles–how she loves to squeal when they pop!

  8. Jessica says:

    So sweet! Right now we are still at the peek-a-boo stage, but I look forward to hide and seek.

  9. So sweet! Peek a boo is our favorite for now…

  10. Jordan says:

    This is so sweet, Jennifer!

  11. Mel says:

    Precious! have a good weekend.

  12. Alice says:

    Hi Jennifer, Your post reminded me of Alfie playing Hide and Seek… I thought you might like to see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8B3A5UxyY4
    How fun to have a giggle with your kids!
    Alice

Leave a Reply

