Follow-up visit

It’s very quiet around here, lately, and for that I’m so grateful.  We had another appointment with the cardiologist last Friday, and at that visit, Avery’s heart looked so good that we’ve been released from the weekly checks.  In fact, we don’t have to go back for 6 months!

Which is both a happy/sad experience.  I’m happy that Avery is strong and healing beautifully, but I will miss our wonderful doctor, who showed me that all the things I’d been wondering about, such as, “How much can the way in which a diagnosis is delivered really matter?” and, “What would it be like to be in a place where people saw Avery first, and Down syndrome second?” could come true, and would in fact make a huge difference.

Things I’m thinking about lately:  spring cleaning, starting tomato plants in empty egg cartons beneath the big windows near the dining room table, reading the “Little Bear” books with Avery and Bennett, and opening the bright white pages of a fresh journal, because it feels like a time of new beginnings.

About jennifergg

I am a daughter, sister, wife, and mother to three sons. I am a cookie-baker, storyteller, kisser-of-boo-boos, and an advocate for children with disabilities. Pinwheels is my blog about life as the mother of a boy with Down syndrome. I also have a website at www.jennifergrafgroneberg.com
This entry was posted in Pinwheels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Follow-up visit

  1. kristen says:

    How wonderful it is to hear that Avery is doing so well. I’ve been thinking of similar things, though not the tomato plants (!!). Yes, the journal and the spring cleaning and the new beginnings.

    Happy Spring, my friend!!

  2. Beverly says:

    So happy everything is going well for Avery! Funny, I just bought a new journal and I do need to spring clean!

  3. Angela says:

    Jennifer, that is tremendous that Avery already got the “six-month jump”! Benjamin had his surgery in October and he got the “jump” in February. No cardiologist until August!! But our cardiologist is the favorite of our many (eight?) doctors for B, so he will be sorely missed!!

    I am on spring break at the beach in Florida with my husband, my two sons, and my mother. Feels like a new beginning here, too. Or that could just be the sand and salt water.
    :)

  4. niksmom says:

    That’s wonderful news about Averys heart. :-) New beginnings…sounds so tranquil. Would you plant one for me and Nik, please? ;-)

  5. starrlife says:

    I know, I know- there’s the before heart surgery waiting period and then there’s the post heart surgery Yehawww!

  6. wonderful news! What a perfect time to receive it. Enjoy your spring.

  7. Kleidy says:

    :D I’m happy to hear that Avery is HEALING so well :D. Happy Spring :D

  8. That is such excellent news! Happy Easter and Happy New Beginnings…

  9. Libby says:

    What a beautiful time of year to learn that Avery’s heart is healing so well. Here’s to a spring of renewal and new beginnings, while also giving thanks for blessings of the past.

    -Libby

  10. What wonderful news about the 6-month check-up, Jennifer. I am so happy for all of you! xo

  11. Melissa says:

    I am so happy to read such wonderful news!

  12. amanda says:

    So glad Avery is doing wonderfully! And so nice for you to get to focus on the small, pleasant things in life…

  13. kyraanderson says:

    yay! that’s wonderful news!!! and new beginnings. i like the sound of that. time to start a new book, too yes?

  14. Lisa says:

    Hello blog, Hello friend, Hello Spring! Little Bear is a great choice…so comforting and sweet, filled with everyday things and a sense of wonder at the same time.

    So happy to hear of Avery’s progress and recovery. I hope you are all healing…

    Maybe you’re already back to making cookies :)? Let me know if you are in need of new recipes to try!

  15. Tara Marie says:

    Yes, a new beginning is always a wonderful feeling….that is why I adore spring time. What wonderful news on Avery’s heart….and your doctor sounds like a gem.

    I started tomato plants and a few others this week………such a glorious feeling.

    Enjoy ‘Little bear’………..

  16. Leightongirl says:

    This is great news. Here’s to new beginnings, fresh journals and tomato plant starts. Soon it will be summer.

  17. Kim says:

    Such wonderful news. How good it feels to settle down and just enjoy life’s simple pleasures.

  18. Tanya Husby says:

    The doctors that we have been blessed with for Sam continually amaze us. On Sam’s birthday we send all the doctors and therapists a ‘birthday’ card, thanking them individually for their gift, energy and influence to Sam’s success.
    Great news for Avery and his family!
    Best wishes,
    Tanya

  19. kate says:

    I’m so glad Avery is doing well! Yippe! And yippee for spring too!

  20. Friends should not stay away so long and for that I apologize. I had no idea Avery (and your family) were dealing with this.

    Completely thrilled to know it’s behind, and Avery’s amazing life is ahead.

  21. jennyalice says:

    so glad to hear things are going so well.

    A toast to good health and big tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

