Circles

Avery loves to draw circles.  Sometimes, we call them “O”s, sometimes it’s “zeros” but really, they’re all circles, and he’s very good at making them.  When he works, his face tightens with concentration as his little fingers grip the pencil.  His tongue peeks out, a wisp of golden hair falls in his eyes. 

He’s making circles and I’m watching him make circles and we could go on like this forever.

As I see him, my mind wanders back to the baby he was, the way his chin would quiver just before he cried, the way his cry was so soft and almost apologetic.  Sometimes I think of him as a toddler, how he always loved to be held, how he could melt into your lap so lightly, almost without weight.  I think of him now:  determined, a little headstrong, more interested in teaching himself to run, or playing wiffle-ball with his brothers in the fading summer twilight, than in snuggling in anyone’s lap.

Yet there are times, like when he’s quiet and concentrating at the kitchen table, that I can see all the Averys in this one little boy, who is filling the page in front of him with circles, one around another like a bulls-eye, just as my life circles around his.

About jennifergg

I am a daughter, sister, wife, and mother to three sons. I am a cookie-baker, storyteller, kisser-of-boo-boos, and an advocate for children with disabilities. Pinwheels is my blog about life as the mother of a boy with Down syndrome. I also have a website at www.jennifergrafgroneberg.com
This entry was posted in Pinwheels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Circles

  1. Louise says:

    Beautiful image Jennifer!

    My son has never been able to write functionally — what he has in his head doesn’t end up on the paper.

    I’d frame some of those circles! Best, Louise

  2. Anne says:

    Yes. Yes, yes. Love this.

  3. Kleidy says:

    Beautiful words :)

  4. Amy says:

    so wonderfully written jen!!

  5. Angela says:

    Very well written! As much as I hate it when Benjamin cries, I do love to watch the progression of his cute facial expressions go from confused to mad to furious. :)

  6. wesleyjeanne says:

    Oh Jennifer, you are quite possibly my favorite writer. Beautiful.

  7. Leightongirl says:

    I love to make circle too. I’m so happy to remember these images of Avery through his ages. He’s growing up, and so tenderly. Thank you for telling us.

  8. beverly says:

    just beautiful!

  9. monica says:

    Beautiful. I can just imagine him doing that. John Michael is in the dot dot dot stage. :-)

  10. Jo says:

    i love the images you draw with your words. thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

  11. Lisa says:

    Ah, this is really sweet. Spun sugar, my friend…

  12. starrlife says:

    Just so, just so…

  13. Jennifer says:

    Love, love, love the circles image.

  14. Deborah says:

    What a wonderful post. I was hoping to see a page filled with circles when I clicked read more.

  15. sara says:

    you have such a way with words, just like your book… i love it. thanks for the great posts:)

Leave a Reply

