An oldie, but a goodie

Today I’m over here, with a short essay I wrote a few years ago. It feels as true today as it did then, perhaps even more-so after Avery’s surgery. I hope it rings true for you, too.

Thanks, Louise!

About jennifergg

I am a daughter, sister, wife, and mother to three sons. I am a cookie-baker, storyteller, kisser-of-boo-boos, and an advocate for children with disabilities. Pinwheels is my blog about life as the mother of a boy with Down syndrome. I also have a website at www.jennifergrafgroneberg.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An oldie, but a goodie

  1. Courtney says:

    I love it! I cancel therapy, sometimes, too. Just because, sometimes, I want to see how the other half lives!!! It’s nice, though, too, to open that gate back up.

  2. sara says:

    i’m going to try that on the days i’m feeling overwhelmed with it all…. then just pick it back up the next day. what a great way to turn those tuff days around.

  3. starrlife says:

    What a great strategy! and metaphor too! So many times I can just live and not have to be anybody special- I’ll have to think now about how I do that!

  4. Jill Boster says:

    Oh, how I love this! I read it over and over again when you first wrote it and now I find myself doing the same! Hope all is well!

  5. Sandy says:

    Jennifer, you have no idea how much I needed to read your post. I’ve been incredibly overwhelmed with life lately (not because of Lucas luckily!), and really need to put up my gate. I will remember to do so more often to preserve my sanity and our family’s wholeness.

    Thanks again! :)
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

