A nurse’s refusal

Focus on the Family, a prolife Christian organization, reports the story of a nurse who, because of her religious beliefs, refused to assist in the abortion of a 22-week fetus with Down syndrome, which you can read about here.

The article doesn’t mention the name of the Chicago hospital where the nurse worked, and I can’t find mention of this story in other news. What I find interesting is that the law supports the fact that the nurse has rights in this situation, and can not be required to participate in procedures she finds objectionable for personal reasons.

6 thoughts on “A nurse’s refusal

  1. With all the plastic surgery (breast augmentations up 400%!), Extreme Makeovers, Swans, celebrity worship, size double zero at Banana Republic, etc, etc…where does this end?

    To strive for what’s perfect overlooks the ‘imperfect’ in the world, which are often beautiful but partially hidden from view.

  2. I fear the same thing.

    And I also like the implications that one needs to be responsible for one’s actions, and that the line, “The boss told me to do it” won’t necessarily cover it. I try to teach my kids personal responsibility; it seems only fitting that we should encourage it in adults, too.

  3. What I found interesting about this, is that the law says you can object for *moral* reasons. I guess this can be interpreted as religious or otherwise (for those of us who fall into the ‘otherwise’ camp). Ethically, this seems right to me.

    A 22 week old fetus! That’s very close to the age of viability, which is 24 weeks. I think this quest for a ‘perfect’ baby mirrors the sad state of our world. And it makes me worried that one day, very soon, with reproductive technology ‘advances’, people with disabilities will no longer be welcomed here.

Leave a Reply

