Peace

“Peace is a strange and wonderful thing: It tends to dwell only where it is invited in and made to feel welcome. In the end it is a personal decision and the road leading to it is sometimes hard and lonely. But we all get there.”

The above quote is from Vygie, which I pulled from the comments because I’ve been thinking about it.

I’m wondering if the road to peace is necessarily a lonely one. I, too, had to find my way there, and with the exception of my husband Tom, it was mostly on my own. But does it have to be this way? I am particularly bad at asking for help, and I always hope that I might get better at it. But perhaps it isn’t a question of ability; maybe some journeys just have to be made solo.

Anyone have another thought on this?

4 thoughts on “Peace

  1. If you do even a little bit of reading about DS, you find that the families and children are very diverse. The blogroll reflects that; there are so many different ways of being a family, and of having a child with DS.

    Having said that, I think we all share something tremendous in common–our love for our kids. It’s powerful, and it forges frienships in a way like nothing else I’ve experienced.

  2. You are right some journeys need to be taken alone. As far as Down Syndrome goes, it should be a road traveled together. I feel like we are an elite group of people that have this wonderful gift that God has given us. I don’t know how He chooses who gets to be a part of this wonderful plan, but I do know that since Rhett’s birth I have been more at peace with my life than ever before.

    I have met more friends than I ever have before and we all have this certian connection that I do not have with anyone else. I love all of my other friends dearly, but I will never share that certian connection.

    Some people at first need to travel that road alone, but I hope that eventually they all come to understand that this road is much better traveled together.

  3. Thanks for your perspective, Suz. I’m still thinking about peace and the road to it, and I realized I had much more help along the way than I first considered. It wasn’t formal help, but it was little things, like the kindness of friends, or as you mentioned, finding and meeting women who mothered children with DS. The way they opened their lives and their hearts to me was a gift (you are one of them, and I thank you).

    I also want to mention faith. Part of my road to peace included a look at my personal faith, and what it meant to me in light of my new life. It doesn’t feel right for me not to acknowledge that; I felt ignored for a little bit, but never alone.

  4. I think there are people who comfort, who try to take away the pain. I think that’s important and that’s why I coordinate the ‘Visiting Parents Program’ here for new parents of babies with Down syndrome.

    BUT, in the end, it is only us individually who know when we’ve reached the point of peace. People can help shepard us, but in the end, it is something that only happens when we are both intellectually and emotionally ready for it.

Leave a Reply

