Montana Monster Cookies

cooking.jpg

This recipe, like all good ones, has been passed around. It came from my friend Phyllis, through her sister Callie, and before that, I don’t know, though I’m sure if I asked Callie, she could tell me. I do know that at some point it was called “Wyoming Whoppers,” but was changed when it crossed the state line into our Montana kitchens.

2/3 cup margarine
1 ¼ cups brown sugar
¾ cup white sugar
3 eggs
1 ½ cups chunky peanut butter
6 cups oats
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt the margarine, blend in the sugars, add the eggs and the peanut butter. Mix until smooth. Add the oats, baking soda, cinnamon and chocolate chips. Batter will be sticky. Drop on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake about 10 minutes or until just golden. Cool on cookie sheet a few minutes, then move to a wire rack to finish cooling.

5 thoughts on “Montana Monster Cookies

  1. Oh, Lordy!!! I got tears in my eyes reading your comment…it is SO GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU!!! And I think of you and Sara so often, and I read and reread her poems about grace all while I was working on my book. They helped me so much.

    I wish, and hope, that others can read her poems, too. Please, please let me know if there is anything I can do to help. I want to hold the chapbook in my own hands…what a wonderful day that will be!

    Thank you, thank you again for saying hello here. And, as always, thank you for being my Aunt Lordy!

  2. Jennifer dear,
    I was writing you this long-winded thing but prefer this time to get to the point. At one of my FREQUENT
    eye exams (glaucoma = OK with drops that give me bloodshot eyes, which is a little weird; macular degeneration = holding steady, which is good, if I take
    insane dosages of obscure vitamins.) So, as this tech
    was giving me one of those awful eye exams (You can only see the big E? ARE YOU SURE?) (Uh-huh), the
    tech mentioned that 1 of her 5 year old twins has Down syndrome. I told her all about you, and Avery, and your book, and she said she could hardly wait
    and would I please please let her know when it came
    out. She desperately wants to know everything you’ve written about Avery and said her entire Italian
    clan would all read the book. I told her I would call
    her as soon as it came out. Your book is SO NEEDED
    JENN!! You have no idea.
    Re your giving up the harsh evaluation testing, what
    exactly is the point of that, anyway?? You know what
    he can do. He knows. I think the whole view of life as a TEST is the reason life seems so difficult. Why not
    accept that Avery is a miracle, as we all are; that your
    whole family is surrounded by love (certainly from Sara
    and me!!), and that as a wonderful writer, you will help
    SO MANY.
    Ah, I get it. That evaluation testing is like my eye tests! I prefer my rather grim doctor saying, “This could be worse, you know,” with her glum face on.
    Yep, it could. Meanwhile, cartwheels and joy to all of
    you. I GUARANTEE that your book will be read, and
    be a joy and a solace to many many others.
    Like me, flunking another eye exam.
    Sara is rounding up her collected poems and we’re
    trying for a chapbook publication, which is really hard,
    but she is SO good. Has been writing poetry for 25
    years, and keeps getting better.
    Rather like you, m’dear.
    Much love and our thoughts are with you, more than you know. xxxxx

Leave a Reply

