Gifts, available for preorder

gifts.jpg

Kathryn Lynard Soper is the creator and editor of a collection of personal writing by 63 mothers of children with Down syndrome that was published for a short time through Booksurge, a division of Amazon.com.

Woodbine House has since acquired the book, titled, Gifts:Mothers Reflect on How Children with Down Syndrome Enrich Their Lives. In addition to the 63 stories and photos in the first edition, there is a new foreword by attachment parenting expert Martha Sears, who is mother to a son with Down syndrome.

Becoming Avery’s mom was a defining moment in my life, and yet I didn’t have the vocabulary to talk about it. I kept finding myself at a loss for words. In my essay for Gifts, called “First Words,” I write about the power and importance of what we say, and how we say it.

The book’s release date is in July, but you can preorder a copy here.

6 thoughts on “Gifts, available for preorder

  1. Nothing better than a Holiday Birthday, everyone always remembers! That’s the best part. Trust me, I know! I’m Valentines Day, my Daughter is April 1st (sort of a holiday), my Sister is Christmas Eve, My son was supposed to be Christmas Day, (We avoided that by a week). But New Years Day, that’s the Best!

Leave a Reply

