Roasted Rosemary Cashews

My son Carter was born on New Year’s Eve, two hours shy of midnight. One of the nurses explained to me that if I could just “hold off,” Carter could be the first baby of the new year and we would get prizes. After the long wait (he was weeks overdue) and the worry (labor was slow and difficult) I didn’t even ask what the prizes were; I merely frowned at the nurse, and motioned for Tom to get me more ice chips.

Carter was born a short while later, and of his birth day, someone said, “Oh, too bad, a holiday baby.” But I didn’t feel that way; I knew that for the rest of his life, wherever he was, Carter would always have a party on his birthday.

This year, we had an afternoon party at our house. It was snowing and the older boys went outside in search of the sleds; while they did, the moms stayed in, seated around the kitchen counter eating Roasted Rosemary Cashews and talking about the year that had passed, and the year to come. I promised Sarah the recipe, and finally, here it is:

Roasted Rosemary Cashews

Toast 1 1/2# raw cashews in a warm oven (325 degrees) for 10 minutes or until fragrant.

In a large bowl, combine:

2 tablespoons fresh rosemary
2 teaspoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon melted butter

(optional: 1 teaspoon cayenne)

Toss ingredients, add hot cashews, mix. Spread on a cookie sheet until cool, serve.

5 thoughts on “Roasted Rosemary Cashews

  1. jennifer, I just went to your website, which I hadn’t visited before and read some of your published essays! Thank you for being such an eloquent writer and advocate! I really appreciate it and admire it. Noelle, jadensjournal.blogspot.com

  2. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and posting a comment. I just got it–I finally realized I have to moderate comments and had some backed up from October!

    Anyway, I’d be happy to have you link to my blog. Yours looks great, and I’ll definitely be visiting again soon!

    amy

    P.S. This recipe sounds great! I’m going to try it…

Leave a Reply

