Bennettspeak

Lots of posts about Avery, so here’s one about his twin brother Bennett. Bennett is learning words, and like most little kids, sometimes he gets it wrong. For example:

Swirsty = thristy
Cramps = crayons
Pinata = blahblahblah
Green = blue
Knife = fork (this is perhaps the most confusing one.)
Avery = A.E.

This last one, calling Avery “A.E.”, has caught on like other, more famous nicknames. In our little world, A. E. is the P. Diddy or J. Lo. of children; Grandmas, Grandpas, Mommy, Daddy, Carter, Avery’s PT, his social worker, his little friends, everyone calls Avery “A.E.”

Until yesterday. Bennett came up to me and said, clearly and cleanly, “Avery is bugging me.”

Sigh. My little boy is growing up.

11 thoughts on “Bennettspeak

  1. I love all this kidspeak! I am remembering all the words that Carter invented (that we still use, Grandma and Grandpa even, say reforgot) and now all the Bennettspeak, and I’m realizing that each family has its own sort of private language, with coded meanings and memories attached to certain phrases….

    I was speaking with a friend about this and she mentioned that couples have the same thing, and if you break up, that’s one of the things you lose–the special language, the inside jokes. As the kids outgrow the language, Tom and me (and grandparents!) are the “keepers” of it, remembering it and keeping it alive. This is all very interesting to me.

    Thanks for sharing all the different dialects of family language!

  2. aw. so cute! my nephew went through a stage of swtiching words around.

    kitchen = chicken
    guitar = tigAR;
    ketchup = checkup
    spagetti = getspetti

    when fluffy first started talking, everything was ‘up’. up meant pick me up, put me down, give that to me, step on it, i want that, more, and boobie. i loved the time of ‘up’.

  3. My older son had a lengthy vocabulary of at least 50 words, most bearing no resemblence to English at all, that he insisted on teaching us before he eventually switched over to English.

    Cold = ish
    Fuzz = voof
    Cat = diddiss
    Blanket = bawa

    And regarding nicknames, my daughter is the Naming Champion in our house, for instance suddenly referring to baby Eric one day as “Peacorn” which still sticks over 2 years later.

  4. Very Funny! I love it. I have so many of those words too, these are the words you never forget! I got both of my children’s nicknames from their first sounds and words. We still call my son “goo goo”, because of course this is what he first said. My favorite now is, doggy, as if you are clearing your throat and just learning to say “g” he says “ggggggyyyyyy”. No “D” or “o” in there yet! Very funny.

  5. Already, my almost-two-year-old Eli is losing some of his babyspeak. He has these really funny words for things, and funny ways he says them (‘cereal’ and ‘radio’ come to mind), and I’ve noticed lately that he’s now saying some of the words correctly. Which is great, in a way; that’s what he should do. But it makes me a little sad, because I’m afraid I’m going to forget what those funny words sounded like.

Leave a Reply

