Our thermometer is broken.

All winter long, the outside temperature, according to our thermometer, has been thirty degrees. A relatively easy winter, if you go by the gauge. Not too cold; always right around freezing.

Well this last week the sun came out, and the ice melted from the gutters and from the low spots in the road. The sun shined and shined, but the thermometer stayed the same.

Today I went out and tapped it. Nothing. I brought it into the warm house. Again, nothing. According to the gauge, it’s still just about to freeze.

I feel the same way. The days are growing longer, the robins are back in the trees. And yet, I can’t shake the feeling of winter. My thermometer is broken.

I’ve always had trouble with transitions. I resist change, even if it’s a change for the better. I drink my morning coffee out of the same chipped cup I’ve had for years, because I’m used to the feel of it. I’ve had the same pair of winter boots for as long as I can remember; they fit just right. Same pair of eye glasses, same wrist watch.

But when things are worn out, or broken, or simply not working, it’s time to let go. I know this to be true, and I want to get better at accepting change, maybe even learn how to celebrate it. I’ll start small, by replacing the broken thermometer with a new one, one that will help me welcome spring.

8 thoughts on “Our thermometer is broken.

  1. Isn’t THAT the question? Who knows what its been all winter. As of this post, the thermometer is in the trash. And I haven’t bothered to replace it. I mean, if I didn’t miss it all winter, who needs it now?

    (And just to clarify, I think it was both…an easy winter, and a winter with a broken thermometer…)

  2. I can relate too.

    Someone once said we need to do at least one thing that scares us every single day of our lives.

    Yet, I’m all for safe and known and frustrating and boring and unacceptable.

    Need to take the bull by the horns…

    Thanks for the reminder.

  3. I identify with your post today. I am in the midst of change…I don’t normally resist change, but myself seems to be fighting the improvements which need to be made in my life. Thanks for the nudge to get a “new thermometer”.

  4. The Chinese say that having things around your house that are broken is terrible Feng Shui, and you will not be receptive to any good Chi (or vibes, as I like to call them) that may come your way. Or something like that. So throw out that old thermometer that’s keeping you frozen, and I will get rid of the clock in my living room that’s been stuck at 10:55 for six months now!

    Welcome Spring!

Leave a Reply

