In thinking about it…

thinkingblogger.jpg

the first time I saw this, it was at Speak Softly…, which is perfect, since Vicki is probably the smartest person I know. And then I saw it here and there, on other blogs that I read and love, and again I thought, perfect.

But now? My nomination comes from Emily Elizabeth at Lovely and Amazing, and I don’t quite know what to say. Back in January, when I transferred much of my writing to this site and began blogging, I had two fears: what if no one reads it? and what if people DO read it, but no one likes it?

And this, too: when I was a new mom to Avery, there was one blog that I returned to again and again, one site that made me think that maybe I could be a good mom to him despite all my worry and doubt. You guessed it–the site was hers. Thank you, Emily Elizabeth, for then and now.

In honor of encouraging new and emerging bloggers, here are my nominations for five sites that make me think:

Reimer Reason-Jodi writes about life with her family, and in particular her son Kellen. Her posts, full of humor and love, make me think about the future, and what my life with Avery might hold.

The Practical Vampire Slayer-my friend Claudia loves Stephen King books, especially Salem’s Lot. In her blog, she talks about fictional vampires, and real ones too–the people who take our life energy from us, draining us dry. She has a gentle, wise way of explaining things, so that even though I am a great chicken when it comes to vampires, she makes me feel brave.

Cate at I don’t know what to say is a new mom to a five-month-old (is it six, now?) with Down syndrome. Her posts are honest, and help me remember my early days with Avery. As I was working on my book, her words helped hold me to the truth of my own story.

Trixie at Unringing the Bell is another new mama, and she writes about her life with the lovely Miss Georgia Maeby with grace and goodwill. Her posts about negotiating a balance between the old, non-mom self and the new, mama self remind me of my own journey with my firstborn son, Carter.

Jen at I never thought… is mom to two sons, and her motherhood journey includes a prenatal diagnosis of Down syndrome for her second son, Evan. Ninety-two percent of pregnancies diagnosed with Down syndrome prenatally are terminated; Jen is one of the small percentage of women who chose life for her baby. She, and other women like her, are our future, if the future is to include people with Down syndrome, and she’s one of my heros.

Thank you, too, to you, for reading this blog and welcoming me into the blogging community.

(For Thinking Blogger nomination guidelines and rules, go here.)

10 thoughts on “In thinking about it…

  1. What a great post Jennifer! Thanks for giving so much credit to the other Mom’s who do so much! I’ve been out of the blogging loop lately becuase of the jewelry, sooooo busy! Anyway, I have a very interesting post today on Nutritional Intervention, one I’ve been meaning to post for quite some time. I hope you have a minute to stop by and read it! Perhaps you already know all about this stuff anyway! Hope all is well! Noelle

  2. Thank you so much! I feel guilty because with all the upheaval in our lives as of late I have not been reading blogs as much as I would like to. It was so nice to see my own humble little self listed when I finally got a chance to come over and read after a week or so absence from blogland!

    Your blog is an inspiration.

    And I am honored.

  3. Thanks for the comments, and wesleyjeanne, I should have included a source with such a striking statistic, but yes, it’s correct, here’s the source:

    Caroline Mansfield, Suellen Hopfer, Theresa M. Marteau (1999). “Termination rates after prenatal diagnosis of Down syndrome, spina bifida, anencephaly, and Turner and Klinefelter syndromes: a systematic literature review.” Prenatal Diagnosis 19 (9): 808-812.

    There’s also another study, too, here: David W. Britt, Samantha T. Risinger, Virginia Miller, Mary K. Mans, Eric L. Krivchenia, Mark I. Evans (1999). “Determinants of parental decisions after the prenatal diagnosis of Down syndrome: Bringing in context”. American Journal of Medical Genetics 93 (5): 410 – 416.

  4. First let me congratulate you on an honor most deserved!

    Secondly, thank you for including me in such a distinguished list. I fear you’re giving me too much credit, but I’m really, really touched by what you said. I even cried a little (and I’m at work! THAT’s always fun). You are such an inspiration to me; this just really means more to me than I can say.

Leave a Reply

