When words aren’t enough

I have a dear friend whom I’ve never met; her name is Nelba and she lives in South Africa.

When I began blogging, my first entry went up on Postcards from Holland. Moreena, the site’s creator, had to walk me through each step, and even then, it felt as if I’d just tossed a message in a bottle out to sea. The message reached Nelba; she commented on my post with such kindness and insight. I felt that in her, I had a true friend.

Nelba’s blog, Chocolachillie, became one of my regular reads, and I grew to love her life, her family, and her beautiful boy Loren. And now, as Nelba faces the loss of Loren, I don’t know what to say.

Christy writes beautifully about Nelba and Loren in this post. They’re not my words, but they are more beautiful than anything I could say.

Nelba, thank you for sharing your life with me, and thank you for your friendship. I’m holding you and your family in my heart.

3 thoughts on “When words aren’t enough

  1. Thanks for sharing Jennifer. What strength in these women. How amazing! A person can live their day having no idea what another is going through. Brings me back to the poem you sent me called Kindness. You can’t know kindness until you know pain. These women obviously are showing their deep kindness.

  2. Oh that is so sad to read of a mother losing her child. I can’t begin to imagine what that has to be like. I’ve gone over and left my condolences.

Leave a Reply

