Pssst…

One of the prerequisites for using sign language to communicate is that you have to be looking at each other. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing; I think it’s good for all of my kids to look at me when we’re speaking, especially when it’s important that I know they understand what I’m saying (or, as my friend Phyllis says, “One, two, three, eyes on me!”).

Avery has a solution. When he wants to say something using sign language, only no one is looking, he says, “Psst.” We all turn to him, and then he signs what he wants to say.

“Psst!”

10 thoughts on “Pssst…

  1. What a great kid! One of the things that strikes me the most about your writings about Avery is his incredible sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

