It’s a happy day here

at Pinwheels when I remember that it’s time for a new Special Needs Mama column at Literary Mama. This month, Vicki Forman writes about “The Center of the World.”

Her post reminds me of this: Like Evan, Avery has a one-of-a-kind belly button. There are “innies” and there are “outies.” Avery has a “way-outie.” A physician once asked me if we would like to schedule a surgery to repair it; at that time, we’d just gotten out of the NICU, Bennett had an upcoming surgery, and I was working on about two hours of sleep a night. The idea of undergoing a cosmetic surgery for a belly button seemed so silly to me that I snorted, startling the good doc. He took it as the “no” I meant to say, and didn’t ask me about it again.

11 thoughts on “It’s a happy day here

  1. Hi Jen, I loved this, esp. all the little idiosyncratic details about Avery that you share with us. Thanks for that–you always sound so calm and confident. Where does that come from? I could use more … πŸ™‚

  2. My friend Holly’s daughter Sydney is three years old and belly button obsessed. She calls it a “beebo” and pokes all day and loves her mommy’s too. Did you know Sandra Boynton has written a book about beebos??

  3. How cute is that πŸ™‚ When Brady was born, his was a combination outtie/innie πŸ™‚ The outside part stuck out, and the inside part looked like a smile πŸ™‚ We called it his smiley button πŸ™‚ Now that he is big (wahhhhh) it is an innie πŸ™‚

  4. I love reading Vicki’s posts…and yours. My sons all have innies, one even despite all the scars of surgery.

    Tammy, I had to giggle at Parker’s innie in disguise. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

