Today’s Salt Lake Tribune

has a feature story about prenatal testing; the article includes a sidebar interview with the editor of Gifts: Mothers Reflect on How Children with Down Syndrome Enrich Their Lives, Kathryn Lynard Soper. Also, there’s a link to my essay in the book, “First Words,” which I will be reading today, at the Barnes & Noble in Missoula.

It’s a cold, wet, rainy day, and the event is scheduled for the middle of the twin’s naptime. So I think I’ll make the trip down by myself, and Tom will stay home with the kids.

I can’t decide which I’m more nervous about: the prospect of no one showing up; or the prospect of speaking in front of a crowd. The one thing that’s given me courage: Avery woke up this morning, crawled into our big bed and handed me a yellow plastic smiley-face figure.

9 thoughts on “Today’s Salt Lake Tribune

  1. There’s also an article in today’s Cincinnati Enquirer about prenatal testing, specifically for Down syndrome. They spoke to the DSAGC president.

    Good luck at your reading. I’m sure it’ll be great.

  2. Missoula is a looonngg way from where I live, but I’ll be there in spirit. I read your essay…my laptop is now soaked, thanks! 😉 Exquisite, Jennifer. Truly exquisite.

  3. Darn it, Jennifer. I want to go with you SO much!!! Why didn’t I plan this better?

    There’s a great episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer where her friends all join together to “be with her” (from a distance) spiritually, emotionally, and mentally while she fights this very scary guy.

    I’m teaming up with all your pals here to be with you today…and Jennifer, you’re going to be SO great. You can’t help it, you just are!

Leave a Reply

