Growing food and kids

Last night, Carter pulled the first radishes from the garden (which is really just two raised beds). We had the radishes in a dinner salad and Carter said they were the most delicious radishes ever.

I remember when he was little, and we planted our first garden together. Potatoes, carrots, onions–seeds and sets hidden deep in the rich brown soil. We’d water and wait, water and wait. And finally, when it was time, we uncovered potato after potato; onions and carrots too. As we worked, Carter’s face was full of astonishment and joy.

And it is astonishing, only sometimes I forget. Until a child reminds me to appreciate these ordinary acts of renewal, and faith. We’ve had four seasons of gardens since then, and this year I have new delight: watching Carter in the garden with his brothers, teaching them all the things he knows.

10 thoughts on “Growing food and kids

  1. It’s so wonderful that you garden with your children, Jennifer. I believe that when we mix it up with the seeds and the soil, the sun and the water, we nourish not only our bodies, but our souls and creativity as well. Thanks for your beautiful posts.

  2. I’m so impressed that Carter even eats radishes! Way to go!

    I am another one who kills pretty much everything even slightly botanical or agriculture-related… but I do remember spending many an early morning as a child out in the garden weeding. I can remember when it was fun and when it was a chore, but I don’t recall the day or event when the change took place. Wish I could grow things…there is nothing like a fresh-from-the-garden tomato!

  3. Gardening is such a good experience for kids. I’ve heard that they’re more likely to eat veggies that they’ve grown. I’d like us to have a real garden like yours one day, but our yard is too small right now. We’re making do with a few potted tomatoes and flowers.

  4. There’s nothing better than fresh veggies from a garden! I miss eating all of the veggies from my parents garden back in Ohio… our yard is too small for a garden here in CT. Someday I will have another one though! For now, the farmers market will have to do!

  5. How fun! I’d love to have a garden, but sadly I tend to kill most anything I attempt to grow. We all enjoy my MIL amazing gardens – just this morning Dominic was delighting in the beginnings of a zucchini. I bet the radishes were delicious!

  6. I always hated gardening until this year. Now that William’s old enough to do it, it’s awesome. We picked seeds, planted them, the whole thing. He even has his own watering can.

    He doesn’t understand why the vegetables aren’t ready the next day, though.

    Also, big brothers in action? Amazing.

  7. It’s so important for kids to know that their food does not grow in the grocery store. It’s wonderful that you’re sharing that with your boys!

Leave a Reply

