Thank you,

for the well-wishes and the prayers for Tom, and the families who have been evacuated, and the firefighters still in the woods. Tom is home now for a break, and the smoke has blown out of the valley, and the sunlight today feels more like Fall than Summer.

I’m thinking of the last stanza of a poem by Mary Oliver, from the book Thirst (Beacon Press, 2006). It’s called, “The Place I Want to Get Back To,” and I quote:

If you want to talk about this
come to visit. I live in the house
near the corner, which I have named
Gratitude.

3 thoughts on “Thank you,

  1. Jennifer, I just went over and read your PD post. I’d missed it somehow (net down a lot lately).

    I’m so glad your husband is safe and that things are improving somewhat. I’m sure it was frightening for all of you.

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll in case I didn’t say it before. I’m pretty sure you’re on mine but I’ll double check.

  2. I’m with Niksmom on this. So glad Tom is home safe and able to get some well-deserved rest. Also, so happy you are seeing sun–and getting a taste of fall.

  3. Jen, I was just getting ready to send you an email asking if things were OK. So relieved to hear the situation is breaking. Glad Tom is ok and getting some rest. Please let him know we think he’s a hero. (One of my husband’s boyhood friends was a NYC firefighter…died 9/11; we have a very special appreciation for those who risk their lives for the benefit of others.)

Leave a Reply

