Funny, most days I feel about as brave as a jelly donut…

courage.jpg

Michelle of Big Blueberry Eyes has honored me with a Courageous Blogger Award.

The award is meant to recognize “those bloggers who are battling, or have battled, with physical or mental illness, those who are survivors of abuse, poverty, or who have overcome other challenges in life. Those who serve in the military, or work/volunteer in dangerous situations in order to provide a service, or to help others. This award is for the strong, brave, and courageous.”

I think, perhaps, the award should go to Tom, since he’s the one with the abundance of bravery. Me? Most days I feel more like the lion in the Wizard of Oz, the one who’d be able to do all these wonderful things, be King of the Forest!, if he only had the courage–forgetting, of course, that he really had it all along.

I think we all feel like that, sometimes: forgetting that we have exactly what we need already within ourselves, if we can just believe in it. Thank you, Michelle, for reminding me.

And now I’m sharing this award with a woman of real courage. She’s a wife and a mother and a friend, who six months ago, took her sweet little boy into the PICU for a relatively routine procedure. While there, the hospital gave her child a near-fatal overdose of painkillers, and her son, and her family, have been struggling to recover ever since.

Throughout, she has remained strong, and kind, and thoughtful of others (I think she even said a prayer for the nurse who administered the overdose). She is an inspiration to me, and to read more about Pam, go to Rhett’s Journey.

8 thoughts on “Funny, most days I feel about as brave as a jelly donut…

  1. Thank you so much Jennifer!! I just finished my post. I don’t think I did the award justice. I wanted to type more, but that one took me two hours as it was!!!

    This one handed typing just stinks!!!;)

    Hugs to you, and again Thank you!!!!

  2. I agree with Michelle that those serving active on the line deserve awards like this daily. However, the backbone they depend on, the family also deserve recognition too.

    Flying back Chicago to Seattle to pick my kids up from the grandparents, there was a guy sitting behind me talking about how soldiers died in Iraq. When he started to describe how someone in the tank division died I stood up and asked him to please stop. All I could think about was my brother-in-law in a tank division in Iraq right now. He deserves better than that.

  3. You’re welcome! I agree the award should go to those actually serving in the military, or in law enforcement, or fire departments, but I think the spouse’s deserve it in a way as well.

    and Pam definitely deserves the award for all that’s happened with Rhett!

  4. “I think we all feel like that, sometimes: forgetting that we have exactly what we need already within ourselves, if we can just believe in it. ”

    Thanks for a timely reminder. It’s been a very challenging few days and I worry that I don’t have what it takes to make it through the long haul. I know I do…I just need to be reminded sometimes.

Leave a Reply

