Mamas making a difference

I’ve heard it said before, and I’m sure I’ll hear it again: it’s all well and good when your kids are young, and they’re cute and fun to be around. But what about when they grow up? How cute will they be, then?

I’ve never had an answer to that question, partly because I don’t know the first thing about any teenager (I’m learning as we go) and partly because I don’t see the use in imagining what might happen 10 years from now in a world that’s changing so fast. So mostly, I nod my head and think, We’ll see what it’s like when we get there.

One thing that gives me great comfort is knowing we won’t be going through it alone. I’ve written before about community; I can’t say enough about how I’ve been amazed and inspired by other parents of children with Down syndrome. Alice from Ups and Downs is a perfect example of why I have hope for the future: she’s involved in a fantastic project called “The Possibles.” It’s a photography club for teenagers with Down syndrome, which you can read about here.

31for21button1.jpg

7 thoughts on “Mamas making a difference

  1. Thank YOU, Alice. Your comments give me great hope. And I’d thought the same thing…when people say all the negative things, I wonder, How can you tell? How can you tell which child will cause you sleepless nights, which child will be the one you bite your nails over?

    Well, I don’t think you CAN tell. I think you just love your kids and do the best you can each day, regardless of the number of chromosomes.

  2. Oh thanks so much for posting this Jennifer. I’ve really enjoyed being with the young people in this project – there are two who I’m completely in love with! And it’s been great to hang out with the mum (and fellow artist) of one of the teens. She’s having a nightmare with her second (typical) daughter, who’s going through the usual 14yr old stuff – wants to hang out with bad boys, is surly and argumentative, and she’s just not used to it because she’s had such an easy ride of it with her eldest daughter (who has Ds). Eldest daughter is a dream – they’re both very wonderful girls actually, and will probably be amazing women – but it’s just nice to see the benefits of having a teenager with Ds!

  3. i love that. thanks for sharing. i’m so inspired by the way people step out and create the thing they need. it turns out, we all need it too.

  4. Can’t wait to check out the link – thanks. I have just finished reading Adults with DS – and quite frankly it seems that some of my fears about having a baby, then a toddler with DS (which I now know were not particularly accurate or if they were I now know that they weren’t nearly as scary in reality) well just maybe the fears I have about Hannah’s teenage years and beyond will be a similar expoerience for us. Certainly I found reading this book to be incredibvly reassuring – and it wasn’t an all roses and sunshine or superstar adults only but it did include the voices of adults with DS. Very reassuring really – time to not worry so much about the future – just try and reduce some of that prejudice so maybe there won’t be so many misconceptions around by then.

  5. Exactly. Who knows how anyone will be 10, 15, or 20 years down the road. No one could have predicted what my life would have been like when I was 5.

Leave a Reply

