Books, books, books!

Kristen, of From here to there and back, tagged me for this meme, saying, “I think it’s one you’ll enjoy” and boy, was she right!

Total number of books?

I don’t know; one thing that’s indicative of my whole family’s love of books is that all our bookshelves (we have two walls of books and other, make-shift bookshelves in cupboards and on tables and beside the beds) need to go on a diet. The books are crammed from the bottom to the top, and stacked two-deep.

Last Book read?

The Omnivore’s Dilemma, by Michael Pollan.

Last Book Bought?

A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseini

Five meaningful Books?

The Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis. I loved these books twice; first, when I read them as a girl and imagined myself transported away through the power and beauty of the words, and again when I saw the same thing happening with my son Carter

Waiting for Birdy, by Catherine Newman. This book has been around for a while, but it’s new to me. It reminded me of the strength of the personal story. And too, Newman has been writing a weekly blog post since 2001! Whenever I feel overwhelmed by my deadlines, I think of her. She is my mama-writer hero!

The Dancing Girls of Lahore, by Louise Brown. This is a book I read a while ago, it was in the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers program in 2005. It was the first in a line of books that helped me feel as if I were learning about the Middle East: others include The Bookseller of Kabul by Åsne Seierstad; Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi, and the books by Khaled Hosseini.

A Prayer for Owen Meany, by John Irving. I’ve always loved this novel, about family and faith and friendship and about a child who is different, but it took on a new poignancy for me after Avery’s diagnosis.

One Good Horse, by my husband Tom. When he was working on the book, our lives were so busy that I don’t think I ever really sat down and read it (I saw many drafts, and I think I even commented on some of them, but I don’t remember what I thought or said). I love his writing: it’s clear and honest and strong, just like he is.

And now to tag five others…

Tom at Random Thinking
Kate at Mother Words
Amy at Saint Nobody
Wesley Jeanne at Mountain Mama
and Sue, at Apostrophe Suz

31for21button5.jpg

5 thoughts on “Books, books, books!

  1. I absolutely agree about “A prayer for Owen Meaney”. I need to reread it! And my friend is about to finish A thousand splendid suns and pass it along to me. I am anxious to get my hands on it!

  2. “A Prayer for Owen Meany” is also one of my favorite books. I own every single book John Irving has written and am in fact currently re-reading “A Son of the Circus.”

    My other favorite author is Chris Bojhalian. He writes novels based on a controversial issue in our society be it midwives, transsexuals, etc. If you haven’t read his books yet, do so…when you can find time in your busy life. 😉

Leave a Reply

