More mamas making a difference

I’ve written before about the book, Gifts: Mothers Reflect on How Children With Down Syndrome Enrich Their Lives. It’s a collection of writing by 63 moms of children with Down syndome, as well as an introduction by editor Kathryn Lynard Soper and a foreword by parenting expert Martha Sears, who is mother to a son with Down syndrome.

And I’ve written before about other things too, like the power of community. I love the Gifts book because it’s an example of readers creating what wasn’t there for them–this book, or any one like it, didn’t extist, so a group of women corrected that.

Too, I’ve written about my first book, which is an anthology. I wasn’t able to give it proper attention when it was released, and I will always wonder if the sales reflected that.

But Kathryn Lynard Soper has done everything right, in my eyes, when it comes to supporting Gifts. Including organizing this day-long event (for her) in Utah: she’s appearing in three different stores to give exposure to Gifts and to welcome everyone in honor of Down Syndrome Awareness month.

The very best thing about Kathryn’s work on Gifts’s behalf is that whatever profits are earned are returned to the Gifts Outreach Program, which is a nonprofit organization dedicated to spreading education and awareness about Down syndrome.

31for21button10.jpg

2 thoughts on “More mamas making a difference

  1. Yes, Kathryn has done an amazing job promoting Gifts. The work of the whole planning team and writers has been a true effort of love. I am constantly amazed by what we can do when we set our minds to making a difference.

    I cannot wait to read Roadmap to Holland, Jennifer. I have a feeling it will also be a very successful book.

Leave a Reply

