What I’ve learned/What I wish

The Lovely and Amazing Emily Elizabeth tagged me for this, and what I really want to say is, “What she said! I agree with what she said, exactly. Ditto!”

But in the interest of not-being-a-noodge, I’ll try to answer the questions on my own, too.

What I’ve learned since becoming Avery’s mom:

I didn’t know anything (really) about Down syndrome, before. The particulars, like what it means to have a trisomy, and the larger things, like how it is to be judged based on your appearances, to have people think they know you even before you say Hello.

And I didn’t know about love, either. The kind of love that appears out of nowhere, love that surprises you and showers you with gentle kisses and love that accepts you without judgement or expectations. Love that once I got used to seeing it in my life, I realized it was everywhere.

What I wish for Avery:

Many years ago, my sister was married in a beautiful wedding at the Highland Park Presbyterian Church in Dallas. At the reception, one of the bridesmaids (Hi, Katy!) made a toast, and she ended it with an Irish blessing. I’m thinking of it now because it’s exactly what I want for Avery and his brothers, and for all our children. It goes like this:

“May the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your fields. And until we meet again, May God hold you in the hollow of his hand.”

Ireland makes me think of Emma Sage, so Tara Marie, you’re tagged! And Anne from Archie’s Room and Tricia from Unringing the Bell, too!

31for21button11.jpg

6 thoughts on “What I’ve learned/What I wish

  1. I love that Irish blessing. The choir teacher at the jr. high has a song that she always ends her concerts with that includes that verse – and it always touches my heart 🙂 Loved your thoughts on being Avery’s mom 🙂

  2. Beautiful Jennifer! I have not stopped by your blog in oh, so long. But I am back on-line and so happy to be here again. I will email you soon. Hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

