Fresh Pumpkin Pie

pumpkin-pie.jpg

Pie dough
2 c. pumpkin puree
1 1/2 c. evaporated milk
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. white sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/8 tsp. grated orange peel (zest)
2 eggs, beaten

Clean and slice pumpkin meat from the rind, then cut into squares and bake in a covered dish at 400 degrees, for about 30 minutes or until pumpkin is very tender (save seeds for another recipe).

Remove and put into a blender and puree.

For Pie: Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Mix 2 cups pumpkin puree with remaining ingredients, pour into pie shell.

Bake 15 minutes at 425 degrees, then reduce heat to 350 degrees. Bake another 45 minutes or so, until a toothpick comes out clean.

31for21button21.jpg

11 thoughts on “Fresh Pumpkin Pie

  1. I’ve noticed that a medium-sized pumpkin will give you enough puree for about three pies; I’ve also been experimenting with a recipe that uses regular milk (much handier!) and molasses (good source of natural iron). One thing I’m convinced of is the orange zest…it really freshens up the pie and you don’t taste it at all, other than to say, this pie tastes really pumpkin-y.

    We did two pies like this today: I’ll let you know the results!

  2. Yanno, just yesterday I was telling my son I needed a recipe for this. I have a couple of organic sugar pumpkins I bought from the farmer — and NO idea what to do with them!

    Thanks!

  3. I had a nice organic pumpkin and made the prettiest puree with it, but didn’t have all the spices and so used a little vanilla. It is a sweet and different pie — as my daughter said, “tastes like pumpkin, not spices.”

    And Robert and Maddie went for ice cream and came home with fudgsicles and extra-oreo cookie ice cream.

    I think the moral of the story is to give better directions when I send them to the store…

  4. I’ve always thought that pumpkin pie is MUCH TOO YUMMY to have just at Thanksgiving. So the pie season opens at our house whenever the first pumpkin is picked…

    Tammy, well, what can I say? ALL THE MORE PIE FOR ME!

  5. Can you believe that I am one of those realllly strange people who don’t like pumpkin pie?

    But my family? My family LOVES the stuff. I am thrilled that you gave a recipe that can use up some of our homegrown pumpkins!

Leave a Reply

