Lentil Soup

soup.jpg

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped carrot
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 pound lentils, rinsed
1 can diced tomatoes
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 quarts chicken or vegetable broth
1/2 teaspoon cumin
lemon juice
chopped fresh parsley

Place the olive oil in a pan and set over medium heat. Once hot, add the onion, carrot and salt and sweat until the onions are translucent, approximately 6 to 7 minutes.

Transfer to a crock pot; add the lentils, tomatoes (with juice), paste, broth, cumin and stir to combine.

Cover and cook on low until the lentils are tender, approximately 4 hours. Ladel into bowls and add a splash of lemon juice and some chopped parsley to each serving. This makes a lot of soup, but it freezes well and is wonderful on a cold fall day!

31for21button34.jpg

9 thoughts on “Lentil Soup

  1. Looks heavenly. I love lentils, and I think my older boys might like this soup. Or if it has a thick enough consistency, they might eat it with rice as a side dish.
    🙂

  2. How did you know that I had to make dinner tonight for a couple who just had a baby – and that I had no idea what I felt like making? I saw this post early this morning and knew immediately that it was just right for this chilly fall day. Thank you! (It was delicious and I linked to it from my blog as well!)

Leave a Reply

