Gifts for Children with Special Needs

Last year, Dream Mom wrote a terrific post about gift ideas for kids with special needs; to read her suggestions, go here. I love this list for many reasons, but mostly, I love it because the items are simple toys that any child would love.

And Susan Etlinger has a list up at Parent center. I love her list, too, and in particular, the very last item–it’s free, it’s as fun to give as it is to get, and it’s available to everyone: friendship.

5 thoughts on “Gifts for Children with Special Needs

  1. Dear Dream Mom,

    I work in the field of AAC (Augmentative and Alternative Communication) as an Assistive Technology Consultant, and find it hard to believe how parents are taken advantage of. The prices of products far exceed any reasonable costs for research and production. For that reason I have started a company called Adapt-It Technologies, my goal is to make products for people with special needs at reasonable prices. If I could be of assistance to you please let me know.

    Thanks and best wishes,
    Ari Rivera
    adapt.it.tech@gmail.com

  2. What a good question, Christine! And no, I haven’t found a need for anything special for Avery. I think I look at toys more closely than I used to, because I have a better understanding of things like pt or st or ot; so maybe I am pickier.

    But Avery doesn’t care! He likes what he likes, which is mostly what his brothers like, too: trucks and firemen and trains and dinosaurs and lions.

    So I try to do things he likes, and things I like (teaching toys) too, in balance.

    Thanks for asking!

  3. Have you found that Avery needs “special” toys or is he happy to play with the same toys as his brothers? My little guy has Ds and is just under a year old. He plays with the same things my typical kids played with. Granted he is still more interested in the toys meant for a 6 month old, but as he develops, I am hoping he will still be playing with trains, trucks and blocks just like any other little boy.

Leave a Reply

