A roar for powerful words!

roarlarge.jpg

Niksmom of Maternal Instincts shared this award with me, described here, and from the post:

A Roar For Powerful Words is the chance to scream from the mountains the good news about the powerful posts that are produced every day in the blogosphere, despite what some mainstream columnists and journalists claim. This is also a good chance to examine exactly what it is that makes writing good and powerful.”

One of Avery’s favorite books is Where the Wild Things Are; he dresses himself in his lion costume and turns through the pages, then roars at the monsters, and at his brothers, and even at me. If my words roar, it’s because Avery shows me how, nearly every day.

The best part of this award is that I get to pass it along–thank you, Niksmom, for giving me the chance to mention other writers whose words roar. I have 3 in mind:

Vicki Forman, because her Literary Mama column, Special Needs Mama, never fails to make me think, and because her post “The Mother at the Swings,” remains one of my all-time favorites on the Internet;

Kathy Soper, because she’s currently working on her own book (and I know the struggle!) and because her post, “Bitter, Sweet,” also at Literary Mama, is raw and true and full of heart;

And Anne, who blogs at Archie’s Room, because of this post, and this one, and this one.

The award also asks that I explain 3 things that make words roar, for me: that’s easy. The writing must be clean, and clear, and honest–all these writers’ words are all those things.

9 thoughts on “A roar for powerful words!

Leave a Reply

