News from the frontier

The kitchen is a rectangle addition jutting out from the main part of the log building.   It faces south, roughly, and the view is of the steep hill that rises behind the house.  I’ve spent these last months looking out at the snow on this hill as it accumulates or melts; as the wind shapes it into wild scupltures or blows the ground bare.  It’s become my meditation on how things can appear completely changed, and yet, be exactly the same.

I’m in the final countdown now for my book’s release (less than a month) and I feel at loose ends.  I haven’t been able to begin any new projects, because I still feel tied to this one.  But I’m generally a happier, and more contented person, when I’m working. 

The kind of book I wrote was as honest, and as true a story as I could tell.  Which means that in a month’s time, I will bare my soul to the world.  I’m glad I did it, it’s the book I wished I could have read when I was a new mom to Avery, but still, there is an anxiety. 

I keep looking out at the hill–the light of each day as it comes and goes, the snow shifting and changing.  Watching, watching.  Waiting, for whatever comes next. 

10 thoughts on “News from the frontier

  1. I am so excited to read your book……mostly because I love the way you observe life around you, both living and natural [like the snow swirling….taking on its own life for a few months time until the elements change it into another form]

    You are an amazing woman, mother and writer….your book will be a treat to see into your soul.

    Peace and love, Tara Marie

  2. I can see and feel you so perfectly, Jen. Do you think the experience would be different if you were in your hometown, busy with the “usual” tasks and people? I wonder.

    All I can tell you is that it’s one of the most beautiful and meaningful books I’ve ever read in my life. I’m so happy for you, even if this time is somewhat difficult, I know it is GOOD.

    With so much love,
    claud

  3. Sounds like this phase is as much a part of your journey as the writing is.

    I’m looking forward to the book’s release. I am no writer but reading you makes me want to be.

  4. how exciting and nerve wracking!

    a soul bared, a truth told, a story shared in your beautiful words! we are all going to be the better for it. once you see that, you will be released to your next project.

    though standing and watching and noticing and waiting is a excellent project, if you ask me.

  5. In your wide group of readers do you know anyone in the T21 community near Larrame, WY? A family that I know is moving there and is looking for services, friends, insider info., etc.

    Thanks,

    Amy

  6. It sounds very much lie the last stages of pregnancy (like I’d even know about that one, ha!!). Your body is telling you you are ready, your bag is packed for the hospital, and yet you still have to wait for the thing that you cannot control.

    Meanwhile, enjoy your boys, the ever-changing view from that window, and the discoveries of your new home. Spring is just around the corner.

  7. How hard it must be, at this stage. All the waiting. Feeling a bit in limbo. I can’t wait to read your book Jennifer. I have a feeling there are a lot of parents out there searching for your words of hope and encouragement.

    By the way, did you see the nice little plug you got over at The Writers’ Group today?

    All good, my friend, all good.

Leave a Reply

