Arugula pesto

Our little grocery store had organic baby arugula specially marked all the way down to 50 cents a package (such a good deal!):  I think because no one knew what to do with it.  But I know what to do!  Make pesto! 

Carter helped me and when we were done, he said, “How do you eat it?”

 “Well, you could put it on hot, salted pasta, or you could mix it with cream cheese and make a dip.  You could add it to mayonnaise and use it on a turkey and havarti sandwich, or you could spread it on dough and make pizza….”

“Yum!” said Carter, and I couldn’t agree more.  Here’s my recipe (and I used the chickpeas):

Arugula Pesto

6 oz. organic baby arugula
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 cloves garlic
1 cup shredded Pecorino-Romano cheese
1/2 cup chickpeas or 1/2 cup toasted pine nuts or 1/2 cup toasted walnuts

In a food processor, add a handful of arugula and chop on the “pulse” setting.  Add the cheese and the chickpeas or nuts, pulse again.  Add the garlic, pulse.  Add another handful of arugula, then pulse.  Drizzle in a bit of the olive oil.  Add more arugula, alternating with the olive oil, until everything is well blended (but not mushy). Store in an airtight container in the fridge for a few days, or freeze. (The flavor is similar to Basil pesto, but with a spicier, more peppery flavor.)

10 thoughts on “Arugula pesto

  1. And Killashandra, I say that in the best possible way…I’m sure the folks in this town know a lot about things I know nothing about…

    Glad so many like the recipe! And I can add that it’s full of vitamins A and C, lots of good fats, and if you choose the walnuts, well they are one of my favorite “superfoods”! Enjoy!

  2. I love it, people probably wouldn’t know what to do with it in your small town. My goodness, it’s probably too true. I like all your recipe ideas for using it though. 🙂

  3. Yum! I usually make basil pesto, but am now looking forward to trying my hand at arugula pesto, too. In fact, I have all those ingredients on hand right now for another recipe I was planning to make this week, but maybe I’ll switch my plans up a little. Hmmm…

    Thanks for the recipe!

  4. Yum. I use arugula like spinach…I learned that when I lived in Norway – arugula is to them like iceberg lettuce is to North Americans!

    s.

Leave a Reply

