MotherTalk Thursday

Today’s News

I just learned that Monday, Melissa Riggio passed away after a brave battle with AML.  I never knew Melissa, but like so many, felt that she had a place in my family.  She was a daughter, a sister, a poet, a singer, a writer, and a friend.  Her music and her work as a self-advocate touched the hearts of thousands, and I will remember her for her full, beautiful life. 

It’s also a MotherTalk day, as we near the end of the blog book tour for Road Map to Holland.  If you’d like to be a part of it, write a blog post of your own and send me the link, which I’ll feature here at Pinwheels, and on the list of participating blogs (to the right) that has a permanent link to MotherTalk.

And it’s a ParentDish day, too.  This week, I write about jelly beans, holding hands, and being brave

Today’s Reviews

Compost Happens looks at my book in terms of its metaphors, and how, when they no longer fit, we re-interpret them, or invent new ones.  She writes, “I’ve never been a big fan of the Holland essay and metaphor, although I knew at least one mom who posted it on her refrigerator as inspiration. Rather, I likened the challenge to expecting a car with automatic everything and then getting a manual transmission instead. The driver has to learn to shift gears quickly and smoothly, both literally and figuratively.” She also has a book to give away; to win, go to her site and leave a comment.

Melissa of Banana Migraine says it’s hard to find time to read, but she’s making the time for Road Map to Holland.  She writes, “[Jennifer’s] words paint the most amazing pictures of her life experiences.”

8 thoughts on “MotherTalk Thursday

  1. Daisy, I didn’t have any dreams (that I remember) but I had the Sandy B. _meaningful hug_. It felt important to me when it happened, for reasons I couldn’t understand at the time. Woo-woo!

  2. Lovely post over at PD today. 🙂 I’ve gotten sidetracked in my reading so I won’t make the “official” tour but I will post my review (most likely over the weekend).

    As I wrote to you in my email, it’s been a challenging read for me at times as it stirred up so many memories —some long buried —of our 209 day NICU odyssey and times since.

    I will go on record here as saying that I think this book should be given to all parents of children with special medical needs. So many of the themes are pretty universal.

  3. The friend who posted this on her refrigerator had a child with dwarfism. The diagnosis might make a difference in how we view the metaphors; every parent is different.
    Odd question: did you have any sense that he might be disabled while you were carrying the boys? I had dreams that clued me in to Amigo’s disability. Spooky, yet peaceful.

  4. Pulse-ox. LOL! Yeah, I remember that (she says, with nostalgia). We came home from the hospital with one, so we had that joy for several weeks (months? I don’t remember).

    But we were just glad to be home, even if we DID have oxygen and a pulse-ox monitor (and later a nebulizer), etc.

    This was lovely. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

