The Baby Bonding Book for Dads

My friend Jennifer Margulis and her husband James di Properzio have written a beautiful gift book I wished we’d had 9 years ago, when Carter was born. Tom and I were both newborn parents then, equally invested in our lives together and in the life of our wrinkled, prune-faced new baby, but I had my stack of books to help guide me, and Tom had, well, hmmm. He had a funny, joke-type book about fatherhood by Bill Cosby, and another humorous book by Paul Reiser. If you were to go by this selection alone, you might think a father’s only job was to keep the laughs rolling.

Thankfully times have changed, and The Baby Bonding Book for Dads: Building a Closer Connection with Your Baby (Willow Creek Press), is a reflection of these changes. In it, newborn dads are treated to thoughtful, helpful, accurate information, as well as stunning black and white images of men and their babies (the photographs are by Christopher Briscoe).

It was only after reading this book did I realize that I missed these images: ones that aren’t often seen in parenting publications or even online, but ones that are an integral part of family life. Fathers holding babies. Fathers holding mothers holding babies. Lots of fathers.

I’d like to share a copy of this book. If you’re interested, leave your name in the comments and I’ll select a winner at random.

UPDATED TO ADD:  We have a winner!  It’s #8, Karen.  Congratulations!  Email me at jennifer (at) jennifergrafgroneberg (dot) com with your address and I’ll get it sent out in the mail.

9 thoughts on “The Baby Bonding Book for Dads

  1. What a wonderful idea for a book! Those pictures of W.W. laying on Daddy’s bare chest, just like people recommended to help with the bonding are truly precious memories for me.

  2. What a wonderful, timely book! I would love to share it with my son-in-law who is about to become a Daddy for the first time. 🙂

  3. I think this is exactly why the sight of Niksdad and Nik together, with their heads pressed close together as if they are sharing some secret, makes my heart melt and my eyes well up every time! (Don’t enter me for the book though.)

Leave a Reply

