Just home now…

from Boston, where this year’s National Down Syndrome Congress Convention was held. There is so much to share: so many memories, like meeting people from the Internet who always felt like old friends, but now they really do, since I can put a name to a face. Holding the most beautiful babies. The way the salty sea air felt soft and smelled so clean; the way the lights of the city twinkled against the glass of the hotel room.

I have 3 favorite moments: meeting Emily Perl Kingsley in person, watching Rebecca and Amy and Renee and everyone hand out free copies of Road Map in the exhibit area (it was so fun, like Christmas in July!) and the awards banquet Saturday night, when Road Map won the 2008 National Media Award-Print. I made some sort of little speech that I’m sure was incoherent, because the whole time I was trying very hard not to cry.

There’s so much I want to remember! But right now I can’t seem to stop kissing my 3 boys, and when they wriggle away from me or “Oh, Mom” me, I am unbelievably content just staring at them, as if I’ve been gone for years.

20 thoughts on “Just home now…

  1. Congratulations! I am so happy that you and “Road Map” received the 2008 National Media Award !!! The book is a beautiful and moving testimony to the experience of loving a child with special needs, and I am so proud of you! Bravo!!!

  2. You were great! I went to say hello after the banquet but was run over by a bull (where did THAT come from?) and didn’t get to you. I got to hug Kathryn (GIFTS) and thanked her for thanking those of us that contributed and I understand about the tears, as they flew out from me too.

    Congrats!

  3. congrats on the award – you definitely deserve it! It was such a pleasure meeting you! I wish I could have had some more time to just sit and chat with you, but I know you had a busy schedule 🙂 Thank you for all you do for the Down syndrome community!

  4. you know what? one of my favorite moments of the conference was handing your books out too!! i felt like i was apart of something so so special! thank you!
    there is more on my blog!

  5. I was so excited to meet you! And congratulations on your award–you were not incoherent at all! It was a wonderful event and it is good to be home. I am already looking forward to Sacramento.

  6. You were amazing. It was so nice to finally meet you. I saw a few of those moments where your eyes turned red, and your voice had just the tiniest little shake, but all in all you were fabulous!!!

    I’m so thankful for the weekend!

  7. Going away and coming back is an amazing experience. I felt like that when I left my kids for 9 days last summer. They were with my parents and when I got back it felt like they had grown inches while I was gone.

    Glad the trip went so well!

  8. I’m so proud of you, my friend! What a lovely experience you must have had; I just know you touched many hearts with your words.

    Now I am even MORE disappointed that I will not be at BlogHer!!

  9. I loved saying “hello” to you Saturday night!! I am bummed my children carried me off and I didn’t get to spend more time talking to you!! You’ll be in Sacramento, won’t you? Will you pencil me in sometime then? LOL!

  10. Congratulations Jennifer! That is so great! I wish I had been there to meet you in person and hear your speech, which I’m sure was wonderful.
    Maybe next year in Sacremento?

  11. oh your speech was perfect. I SO enjoyed meeting you. I could see you were so overwhelmed by everything, but you handled it beautifully. I know it sounds silly, but I was SO proud of you. And finally getting to hug you was the highlight of my day. Enjoy your boys while they’re small, I came home to pretty much teenagers heading out the door, see ya later Mom. 😉

  12. Congrats on the award. You do truly deserve it. I wish I were going to BlogHer so I could meet you. You seem absolutely wonderful from your book and the website. I will always remember your book so that I can recommend it to friends and acquaintances. I think it has a really important message.

Leave a Reply

