Week 2 of Down Syndrome Awareness Month

October is a time to celebrate life with Down syndrome, and each week I’m sharing some of my favorite books and resources. This time, it’s a two-fer…I’d love to find a good home for Expecting Adam: A True Story of Birth, Rebirth, and Everyday Magic, Martha Beck’s personal account of the her pregnancy with her son Adam, whom she found out had Down syndrome via prenatal testing. And I’d also love to share The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, a novel by Kim Edwards. (Both books were part of a lively online book discussion that you can read about at Downsyn.com.)

If you’d like either, or both, of these books for yourself or someone you know, state your preference in the comments and I’ll choose a winner at the end of the week.

UPDATED TO ADD: We have winners! Nikki gets the copy of Expecting Adam and DGB will be reading Memory Keeper’s Daughter! Email me with your addresses at jennifergrafgroneberg @ yahoo.com (don’t forget to take out the extra spaces in the email address before you send it).

10 thoughts on “Week 2 of Down Syndrome Awareness Month

  1. Both books were a great read — highly contrasting stories, too!

    No preference really as both books have their own story, and both books underline certain times in my life with Gabriel.

    I’m anxiously awaiting the made for television movie of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter!

  2. I would love to win the copy of Memory Keeper’s Daughter. I have a little girl (6) with DS and could use some new inspiration. I’m sure you know the ups and downs of Downs. There are the days when you feel so lucky, inspired, thankful. Then every once in a while, you wonder if you are doing enough, you question, feel tired, frustrated. And the only one that can really understand is the mother of another child with DS.

  3. I love your new look!! Avery is so cute!
    I have never read Expecting Adam. Please put me in that drawing!!
    How are you? Think of you often!

  4. I would love to read both of those books. Please include me in the drawing.

    Oh! And I just got a copy of the 18m DVD, so the odds can get better for all others who wanted to win it from you. 🙂

  5. Love Avery’s face!!!, he is such a handsome boy. Expecting Adam and The Memory Keeper’s Daughter are great books. Beautiful new design Jennifer. 😀

Leave a Reply

