Week 3 of Down Syndrome Awareness Month

As a way of celebrating life with our kids this month, I’d love to share one of my family’s favorite resources–Joan Guthrie Medlen’s book, The Down Syndrome Nutrition Handbook–A Guide to Promoting Healthy Lifestyles. The title is deceptive, because really, it’s a book for everyone, especially if you are interested in healthier living. And it’s particularly helpful if you’re living with diabetes, or celiac disease.

Leave your name in the comments if you’d like this book, either for yourself or your community’s Down syndrome library, and I’ll choose a winner at the end of the week.

UPDATED TO ADD: We have a winner! Bennett picked the numbers, and he chose #1, Chrystal. Congratulations! Email me with your mailing address and I’ll send it right out.

17 thoughts on “Week 3 of Down Syndrome Awareness Month

  1. Hi all!

    Sometimes I troll the internet. Jennifer! I had no idea you had a contest going! How fun!

    Of course, I’m about a month late.

    Those of you who wanted the book, if you look in here, email me and I will offer you a substantial discount as a consolation prize.

    Finding this tonight made my week.

    Thank you!
    Joan

  2. Hello, My name is Melissa & I am master Dillon’s Mom! I am so interested in checking out this book since my son is allergic to soy & dairy! Oh, what bumps in the road we face, but someway somehow we’re overcoming them! (I sigh)
    Even though I started my blog in July, I still “feel so new” in the blog world & I just discovered yours!!! Gosh, I have to go out & get your book…Love reading stories of woman who have been in my shoes 8)

  3. As a mother of a nine year old son with Down’s syndorome, I have been frustrated with health issues that his doctors have no advice on, namely, nutritional issues. I have so many questions, like how do I get him to chew better, and how can I help his digestion or give him supplements when he won’t swallow pills?
    Another big issue is his weight. Exercise is difficult because of pronation in his feet, and lack of motivation, and now even more difficutl because he is so heavy.
    This book is definitely something I need!

  4. Hi Jennifer,
    Based on your own book, Roadmap to Holland (which I absolutely loved!), I went to the library and signed the Nutrition Handbook out. It was absolutely essential to our library and I’m waiting to add it to our collection. (With Christmas coming, I usually make one large order to get the free shipping! LOL!) Anyway, I agree with you — the handbook is a great resource for EVERYONE!

  5. Yes, I would love this! I have been trying to find resources for good nutritional info for our little one with Downs. I am finding it hard to come by… Do you know of any other good resources?

Leave a Reply

