Write with me!

One thing that being a parent has shown me, especially being Avery’s mom, is that often, what I need to do most, what I need to get much better at, is letting go of the way I think things should be.  The lesson: to watch as things unfold as they should.  To allow it to happen.  Even, to embrace it.

Tomorrow, I’m going to open my heart and mind to a new experience: NaNoWriMo.  For many many years, I was taught that writing was a serious pursuit.  That it should be undertaken mindfully; that to do it, you needed to study, and to be educated.  Which is true, of course, but only to a certain extent.  When I think about why I began writing, as an 8-year-old girl sitting on my bed in my pink bedroom with the matching nightstand/dresser/desk/hutch in white wood with gold trim, I hadn’t yet learned all that.  I wrote because it was fun.

Which is why I’m doing NaNo!  It’s the opposite of what I’d usually do.  It’s unexpected.  It’s challenging and a little bit scary.  And mostly, I think it’ll be fun.

Join me, if you like!  And if writing isn’t your thing, then pick something else!  Try something this month that you wouldn’t normally do.  That you think is too hard, or too scary.  Which might actually turn out to be NaNo afterall….

Wish me luck!

7 thoughts on “Write with me!

  1. I hope that you have enjoyed every minute of your writing time this month and that it has been challenging (in only the best of ways) but most of all fun!

    There is something satisfying about writing isn’t there? Crafting a story out of any number of words and making them into your own tale.

    Oh yes – I also had to laugh about the matching bedroom furniture. I think I may have had the same creamy white with gold trim set and vividly remember sitting in my bedroom surrounded by said furniture writing my submission for the”Young Writers Contest” in sixth grade…

  2. Looking forward to reading, as usual. I, too, like the idea of finding something challenging this month. I am not a very good writer – but I do enjoy blogging although this month of 31 for 21 did me in so I will take a break and read more. Maybe I will read more about how to become a better writer. 🙂

  3. Best of luck ~ Jennifer
    I’m making friends with the unknown, trusting it will bring me what I really need to learn in order to grow. Accepting and welcoming its lessons in my life, can be a rewarding and exciting experience. Hugs. 😀

  4. Oh, good luck and HAVE FUN! You should contact Vicki F to be her buddy. 🙂

    I won’t be writing but I like your idea of doing something that will challenge me. Maybe cleaning something in the house or organizing one small area every day. Sounds like a cop out to some people but it’s a major obstacle for me and I procrastinate terribly until things reach overwhelming proportions.

Leave a Reply

