The surgery was a success

and Avery has been moved from the CICU to the regular hospital floor.  I can’t thank you enough for the love and concern, it helped me so much, especially through the long afternoon of surgery yesterday, and the longer night in CICU.

From the hospital window I could see the space needle lit up in the night, and I knew Tom and the kids could see it from their window too, and the thought made me feel connected to them.  Just like I feel connected to all of you.   Thank you for the advice, the photos, the suggestions, the examples of your own courage, your stories, your emails. I’ve experienced many emotions in the past 24 hours, but I never once felt alone–you were all there with me, cheering us on, and it was amazing.

64 thoughts on “The surgery was a success

  1. Hi, I do not post too often but I loved your book and and like to read your blog so I just wanted to let you know that there are people everywhere who are very happy that Avery is okay. Thank you for all that you write as the mom of a 3 year old with DS I love reading your blog and book.

  2. Hi Jennifer,

    I’ve been keeping up with you and Avery through Babycenter, on the Down Syndrome board. However, I wanted to let you know that we’ve been praying and sending positive energy your way! I’m so happy that he is doing so much better and I can’t wait to read about him more!

    Sonia

  3. So very thankful to hear the fantastic news and know that Avery’s little body will be healing and getting stronger every day. Isn’t it amazing how much courage can be seen in this little one? We can all take a lesson, that’s for sure. Blessings!

  4. Breathing a sigh of relief down here in PDX. I can see in my reader there’s another post. Looking forward to continued good news. It’s so nice when it feels our prayers were heard!

  5. I’ve been thinking about all of you since my daughter saw your post about little Avery needing surgery. You were so there for me when I wrote — I will continue to pray for a speedy recovery for Avery and send happy thoughts to you and your family.

    Expectant Granny of a Down syndrome baby girl 🙂

    Nancy R

  6. HOORAY!!! I (along with my family) am/are so very happy for you and yours!
    All our best wishes for a very speedy recovery!

  7. HOORAY!!! I (along with my family) are so very happy for you and yours!
    All our best wishes for a very speedy recovery!

  8. so happy to hear that all is still going well. keep fighting Avery. hope the time flies until you are all home again. continued prayers for a speedy recovery for your sweet boy, aj & Janna

  9. Jennifer, Thank you for the great news about Avery. We will continue to keep him in our prayers for a healthy recovery. Positive thoughts, prayers and peace to all of you. Christine E.

  10. Such wonderful news! I have been thinking and praying for you and Avery and the rest of your family. Glad to hear things are going well. Continue good care and wishes your way,
    Tanya Husby

  11. YAY! SOOOO happy to hear the report, Jennifer! I’ve been thinking about you all nonstop for last 48 hours. I was so relieved to get the update from Rebecca; even though your head tells you things are going to go well, there’s nothing like your heart catching up and being on the other side of things, huh? I look forward to more updates on Avery. Thanks for making my day! Hope all continues to go smoothly.

    A big hug and kiss to your precious boy!

    Sandy

  12. Thanks wonderful!!!! Ivy is due to be born in 8 weeks and will have heart surgery scheduled sometime within the first three months. My kids and I have all been praying for Avery and checking your website regularly to see how everything went. My kids will be soooo glad to hear he is doing well!!

  13. Jennifer. I so wish I’d checked in on your blog earlier. Sending good thoughts and prayers to you, Avery, and your whole family. I was surprised to hear you were at Seattle Children’s, so far away from home. My son had his heart surgery done at Seattle Children’s, they took extremely good care of both baby and mom :), its a good place to be (if your baby needs a hospital that is). We just celebrated my son’s “heart day”, it’s been one year since his surgery. Your description of the surgeon in your earlier post sounds a LOT like the surgeon we had.

    Do they still give out those little heart pillows? If so make sure to get it signed by doctors and nurses, it seems like a weird keepsake but I’m really glad we did it.

  14. What a relief to read that the surgery went well. I will continue to pray for your family during the recovery!

  15. So glad you were able to come and post. I talked to Tom yesterday, apparently I didn’t have the right permissions to do so.

    In any case, you should be receiving a package this morning. I gave the ICU room number (because I didn’t have his new room number), but the nurses there assured me that it would get you.

    If you have a moment in the afternoon to call or email just to let me know that it arrived that would be awesome!

    love, love, love r

  16. Oh Jennifer! I am so happy to read your update. You, Tom and the kids have been on my mind — but most of all I’ve been thinking and praying for your strong Avery! As Stacy W pointed out: you are now on the other side, and every day will be better than the last! Oh, big tight hugs to you and your beautiful family!♥♥♥

  17. YAHOO! Confirms my belief in resiliency. I know those thoughts of gratefulness – I felt it too 10 years ago – such wonderment that man (and woman) have figured out how to fix a teeny heart. We are truly lucky – thinking of you.

  18. Avery, may you BE HEALTHY and STRONG ~ . I’m sending you LOTS OF LOVE and HEALING ENERGY your way, every single day!!!.

    Wonderful news!!!. Jennifer, thank you so much for the update. 😀

    Sending LOVE, PRAYERS, STRENGTH and POSITIVE ENERGY to all of you ~

  19. Great news! Hope he is the process of starting to get “unhooked” and that you are all home soon. Hope you have been able to get at least a little sleep…you’re going to need it.

  20. So happy to hear this; you have no idea. Sounds like Avery’s doing great! I have been thinking about all of you…hope you’re home very, very soon.

  21. I am so relieved for you guys! Our whole family prayed for you guys. Hang in there and take good care of each other and yourself.

    The Bailey family

  22. Continuing to send love and good wishes. Especially for restful, healing sleep for you and Avery!

    Hope there’s an opportunity, too, for you all to see some of Seattle; it’s a beautiful city.

  23. I am so happy to hear that Avery is doing well after his surgery!
    I hope that he goes from strength to strength and I am keeping you all in my thoughts!

  24. Jennifer, Hurray for Avery and his happy heart! Don’t you just love the internet at times like this? There’s never been a better time in history for reaching across borders to other families who have a child with Ds and receiving instant comfort. I’m so glad all went well — the little guy has been in my prayers as have all of you. Here’s my wish that your tears will all dry up and be replaced with peace, love and, joy 🙂

  25. So, so, so happy to know your Avery is recovering well -what a strong and resilient kid!

    Isn’t it amazing how tangible the love and prayers and thoughts of others are? I’m so glad you could feel them. I know on my darkest days, that is what helped keep me afloat.

    Continued wishes for continued healing, for all of you…

Leave a Reply

