October is here!

And if you’ve got a person with Down syndrome in your family, you know that it’s Down Syndrome Awareness Month.  This is a terrific post about what it feels like for us, and there are more links in the comments to other families and their stories.  That’s what I love about this month:  it reminds us we’re not alone.

This is from ten years ago, at our first Buddy Walk.  Where did the time go?

 

 

 

One thought on “October is here!

  1. My son, John Michael, is 10 today… I decided to update my sadly neglected blog (haven’t posted in 2 1/2 years!) and I came across your post… Your boys are 13??? Your book was the most important thing I read in a very difficult and uncertain time for me. Those early days, weeks and months were lonely… Fast forward 10 years and life is humming right along with more joy, love (and another son after John Michael!)… and I barely recognize the mom I was back then. I’m grateful for you and others that blazed a brighter trail for us…

Leave a Reply

